2022 World Cup Awards in Qatar: Who Won the Player of the Tournament, Golden Glove, and Golden Ball?

The 2022 World Cup campaign came to a heated end on Sunday when Argentina lifted the trophy after defeating France 4-2 on penalties. The game was tied at 3-3 after 120 minutes, and it took an extra tense period to decide a winner.

In the end, Lionel Messi completed his accomplishments with a World Cup trophy. The PSG star scored one goal in the match and was awarded Man of the Match for his efforts.

Kylian Mbappe was named Man of the Match for his impressive performance in France. He netted four goals in the tournament and finished as the top scorer with eight goals under his belt.

And finally, here’s a look at some World Cup awards:

Golden Boot: Kylian Mbappe

The 2022 World Cup in Qatar was a thrilling tournament with many exciting moments. The Golden Boot went to France’s Kylian Mbappe, who scored eight goals as the top scorer in the competition.

He netted four goals in the final against Argentina, with three penalties converted. Lionel Messi won Silver Boot after netting seven goals in the tournament, and Olivier Giroud got Bronze Boot after scoring four times in six games.

Golden Ball: Lionel Messi

Lionel Messi has been named the best player at the 2022 World Cup, helping Argentina win its first title since 1986.

The Barcelona forward claimed the Golden Ball award for the tournament’s best player after scoring seven goals and assisting three others in his country’s run to glory.

Messi also became the first man to win this award twice, having done so in 2014. France striker Kylian Mbappé took second place in the voting, with Croatia playmaker Luka Modric claiming the third spot on the podium.

Golden Glove: Emiliano Martinez

The Golden Glove award for the best goalkeeper of the 2022 World Cup has been awarded to Emiliano Martinez. The Aston Villa man was crucial in Argentina’s win by saving two penalties to lift the World Cup trophy.

He finished the tournament with three clean sheets to his name, and he also kept out a penalty against Uruguay in the quarter-finals. Other noticeable names in the race included Morocco’s Yassine Bounou and Croatia’s Livakovic.

Young Player of the Tournament: Enzo Fernandez

The Young Player of the Tournament award went to Enzo Fernandez. He started the World Cup campaign while sitting on the bench following their 2-1 win-loss to Saudi Arabia, but Lionel Scaloni took a shot in the 20-year-old who featured in all matches till the finals.

The youngster sealed off an amazing volley in their 2-0 win over Mexico, who have crowned champions at Qatar 2022.

Fair Play Award: England

The England national team took home the Fair Play Award for their exemplary conduct at the 2022 World Cup in Qatar.

Gareth Southgate’s side only picked one yellow card in the tournament—a record for the Three Lions. It was also the lowest number of bookings for any team in any World Cup since 1986.

The award is given to teams that showed the highest level of sportsmanship throughout the competition and were presented by FIFA president Gianni Infantino.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Age Limitation

You must be 18 years old or over to use this site. Please bet responsibly.

New Bookmakers

100% instant bonus upon your first deposit.


Get Upto 200% Extra


Dafabet is an Asian bookmaker, highly popular due to its custom suite nature for Kenyan bettors. It is a top-rated bookie among Asian handicap bettors.


200% Welcome Bonus


Signup and enjoy localized bonuses & prizes

Predictions Disclaimer

Any predictions given in this site are the research & opinions of the tipster and are not under any circumstances to be taken as the absolute truth. Be responsible for your own bets

Bonus Code
Up to Ksh. 26,280 Bonus on Your First Deposit
T&Cs Apply
New customers only

Sign up using the bonus code, deposit qualifying amount to your account and you will qualify for 200% of that amount in Bet Credits

*Check more terms here.